Skip to Content
2013-01-28 ONU claims conference best 11 recipients on CCAC All-Academic Team
7-3-12 ONU wins CCAC All-Sports cup

ONU claims conference best 11 recipients on CCAC All-Academic Team

Author: Nick Birkey/Dave Laketa (CCAC)
Posted: Monday, January 28, 2013 at 8:48 AM

CHICAGO --- A total of 47 student-athletes have been named to the 2012 Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Cross Country All-Academic Team, it was announced by the league office on Monday morning.

Olivet Nazarene University earned the top spot with a total of 11 Tigers being recognized.  NAIA national champion University of St. Francis was one behind with 10 honorees, while Illinois Institute of Technology and Trinity Christian College posted nine recipients each.

Each of the 12 member schools to sponsor men's cross country had at least one student-athlete named to the squad.

Of the 47 honored, six boasted perfect 4.00 cumulative grade point averages.  Those individuals were Illinois Tech sophomore Jeff Somerfield (Willowbrook, Ill.), Olivet Nazarene junior Jesse Stanford (Bolingbrook, Ill.), Trinity Christian senior Brian Hofman (Waupun, Wis.), Trinity International University junior Titus Lotz (Fox Lake, Ill.) and St. Francis senior Christian Pendleton (Palos Hills, Ill.) and sophomore John Niendorf (Frankfort, Ill.).

Sixteen (16) individuals were repeat selections on the team.

To be nominated for the award, a student-athlete must have been enrolled at his respective CCAC school for a minimum of one academic year, have completed at least 30 semester hours and boast no less than a 3.25 cumulative grade point average.

Of the 11 Tigers that were named to the all-academic team, six are multiple time recipients: seniors Kyle Boone (Normal, Ill.) and Kasey Ferrigan (Dixon, Ill.), juniors James Fisher (Wales, Mich.),Matthew Logan (Dixon, Ill.), Jesse Stanford, and Daniel Wells (Danville, Ill.). The first-time award winners include seniors Nicholas Mizeur (Moline, Ill.) and sophomores Roman Endrizzi (Normal, Ill.),Marshall Hawn (Goshen, Ind.), Joel Lynn (Naperville, Ill.), and David Powers (Security, Colo.).