Skip to Content
2013-01-28 ONU puts conference best 16 recipients on CCAC All-Academic Team
7-3-12 ONU wins CCAC All-Sports cup

ONU puts conference best 16 recipients on CCAC All-Academic Team

Author: Nick Birkey/Dave Laketa (CCAC)
Posted: Monday, January 28, 2013 at 8:35 AM

CHICAGO --- Olivet Nazarene University and Trinity Christian College each claimed double-figure awardees when the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference announced its men's soccer all-academic team for 2012 on Monday.  Olivet Nazarene produced a league-high 16 honorees with Trinity Christian landing 11 members on the squad.  Combined, the two clubs accounted for nearly 44 percent of the 62 total recipients.

Cardinal Stritch University just missed the double-digit cut with nine award winners.

Eleven (11) of the 12 CCAC member schools had at least one student-athlete named to the team.

Olivet Nazarene also boasted one of the two perfect 4.00 students to make the squad in sophomore Colin Koerner (Bourbonnais, Ill.).  The other student-athlete to earn the perfect 4.00 mark was Illinois Institute of Technology senior Liam Barrett (Felixstowe, England), who was also named the CCAC Men's Soccer Player of the Year earlier this year.

Barrett was one of 25 individuals to claim the academic honor for the second year in a row.

To be nominated for the award, a student-athlete must have been enrolled at his respective CCAC school for a minimum of one academic year, have completed at least 30 semester hours and boast no less than a 3.25 cumulative grade point average.

Of the 16 Tigers that were named to the all-academic team, eight are multiple time recipients: seniors Cory Rovens (Downers Grove, Ill.), Zak Christensen (Manteno, Ill.), and Steve Lacosse (Manteno, Ill.), juniors Yonda Abogunrin (Vernon Hills, Ill.),Michael Durazo (Fishers, Ind.), Nate Smith (Peoria, Ill.), and Jason Mills (Urbana, Ill.), and sophomore Todd Bevan (Schererville, Ind.). The first-time award winners include seniors Sebastian Esquetini (Quito, Ecuador), Chad Frownfelter (Goodrich, Mich.), and Tim Walker (Grand Blanc, Mich.). There were four other sophomores and one other freshman: Josiah Arriaga (Richton Park, Ill.), Colin Koerner, Kyle Reopelle (Elgin, Ill.), Kyle Zeman (Kenosha, Wis.), and Cody Wolf (Beecher, Ill.).