Skip to Content
Olivet hosts USTA/ITA Regionals
2012-09-20 Olivet hosts USTA/ITA Regional

Olivet hosts USTA/ITA Regionals

Author: Wendy Reid
Posted: Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 10:51 PM

 BOURBONNAIS, Ill. – Olivet Nazarene University has been selected to host the 2012 USTA/ITA Central-East Regional Championship tennis tournament. The two-day event, starting Friday, Sept. 21, will feature the top collegiate men’s and women’s players from the region. 

The event will be held on the campus of Olivet and at nearby Cobb Park in Kankakee, Ill.  

Opening day will begin with men’s doubles matches at 9a.m. at Olivet and women’s doubles matches at 9:30 a.m. at Cobb Park. Doubles play will continue until the semi-final round has been reached.  

Men’s and women’s singles main draw will compete at Olivet and is tentatively scheduled to begin at 11:30a.m. The men’s and women’s “B” draw will play at Cobb Park upon completion of the doubles rounds. Friday’s singles play will continue until the semi-final round is reached. 

All matches on Saturday will be held at Olivet, beginning with the doubles semi-final and final rounds at 9a.m. The singles semi-final and final rounds will follow.  

Players to watch :  


Julian Kurz, Olivet Nazarene University– 2 time singles USTA/ITA Regional Champion (2010, 2011), doubles runner-up (2010, 2011)  

Alex Haizel and Mark Zubov, University of St. Francis– All-CCAC singles and doubles (2011-2012)  

Diego Gonzalvez, Olivet Nazarene University- singles semifinalist (2011), singles finalist (2010), doubles champion with Sebastian Esquetini (2011)  

Arno Epping, Ashford University – freshman  

Matt Kuntzi, Roosevelt University – freshman    


  Aziza Butoyi (Olivet Nazarene University) – 2 time singles USTA/ITA champion (2010, 2011), doubles champion with Taylor Stephens (2010) and Aurelie Hascoet (2011)  

  Aurelie Hascoet (Olivet Nazarene University) – singles semifinalist (2011), doubles champion with Aziza Butoyi (2011)  

Seraphine Buchmann (Olivet Nazarene University) – freshman  

Taylor Stephens (Olivet Nazarene University) – doubles champion with Aziza Butoyi (2010)  

Danielle Hoffman (University of St. Francis) – freshman  

Princess Clemente (University of St. Francis) – All-CCAC singles and doubles (2011);  

Adrianna Obando (Ashford University)  

Carina Balan (Roosevelt University)