Skip to Content
2013-02-13 Pipal recognized as CoSIDA Academic All-American
2013-02-13 Pipal recognized as CoSIDA Academic All-American

Senior Meghan Pipal was named a third team CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-American.

Pipal recognized as CoSIDA Academic All-American

Author: Wendy Reid
Posted: Wednesday, February 13, 2013 at 11:55 AM
BOURBONNAIS, Ill. – Senior Meghan Pipal (Wheaton, Ill.), a senior mid-fielder on the Olivet Nazarene University women’s soccer team has been named a 2012 College Sports Information Directors of American (CoSIDA) Capital One Academic All-American Third Team honoree for her performance in the classroom as well as on the field.

Pipal maintains a 3.89 GPA as an elementary education major. An NAIA All-American honorable mention honoree, Pipal was also selected as a First Team All-Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC) member as well as a National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA) North Central Region Player of the Year. She is an NAIA Scholar-Athlete and a member of the CCAC All-Academic team.

Senior Katrina Holm (Antioch, Ill.) joined Pipal on the 2012 All-District First Team. Holm, an elementary education major, maintains a 3.78 GPA. She was an NAIA Scholar-Athlete and recognized on the CCAC All-Academic Team. She was also a Second-Team All-CCAC honoree and a member of the NCCAA North Central All-Region team.

Both girls were instrumental in the Tigers 19-4-1 2012 season that culminated with playing in the programs first ever NAIA National Championship game. Olivet lost a close 3-2 game to Lindsey Wilson University (Ky.).

Student-athletes are nominated by current CoSIDA members. Voting for Capital One Academic All-District (First, Second and possible Third Team members are named) is done by current CoSIDA members. Those who obtain First Team All-District status move onto the national Capital One Academic All-America® ballot; these national awards (First Team, Second Team, Third Team for each sport category) is voted upon by Academic All-America® Committee members and current CoSIDA Board of Directors.